poster for event poster for event

You've selected

Sunday April 5 2020 at 3:00 PM

× The DYTP 8 is a dynamic jazz octet featuring co-leaders and multiple JUNO winners Dave Young (bass) and Terry Promane (trombone) performing original compositions and arrangements by, Terry Promane, Dave Young and Rick Wilkins. In addition to well-crafted originals, the Octet pays tribute the music of Duke Ellington, Horace Silver, Dizzy Gillespie, and Charles Mingus. The Octet has gained a strong reputation in the jazz community as a powerful ensemble featuring Canada’s most prolific improvisers - Kevin Turcotte (trumpet), Mike Murley (tenor sax) Vern Dorge (alto sax), Perry White (baritone sax), Terry Clarke(drums), and Gary Williamson (piano). Dave Young is a gifted jazz and classical player performing with the Edmonton and Winnipeg Symphonies, as well as the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra. As a jazz artist, Dave's collaborations include Oscar Peterson, Clark Terry, Zoot Simms, Oliver Jones, Rob McConnell, James Moody, and Cedar Walton. Terry Promane is an Associate Professor of Jazz Studies at the University of Toronto and is best know for his work with Rob McConnell, Mike Murley, John MacLeod, and Kirk MacDonald.The band's past performances include the Toronto Downtown Jazz Festival, The Festival of Sound (Perry Sound Ontario) Hugh’s Room, and numerous appearances at the Rex Jazz Bar. Some major events include the CD release of The Dave Young/Terry Promane “Octet Volume One” and The Dizzy Gillespie Tribute concert at Toronto’s Koerner Hall featuring jazz legend Claudio Roditi. This is a fun and exciting ensemble. They'll go down well with a pint or a glass of wine from the licensed bar at the Concert Hall.


The Concert Hall At Victoria Hall
55 King St. W.
Cobourg Ontario K9A 2M2


This is a festival seating performance - the seats are on a first come, first serve basis when you arrive at the theatre.

Doors open 1/2 hour prior to start of performance.